Zee Past Month

I think after coming back from Ghana my mind’s been on sleep mode.  I haven’t been thinking much, motivated to work, update my blog, or even read! So here’s my brain dump on my life (does anyone even follow my blog anymore since I rarely update? haha) Last week, I snapped back into the crazy realities of my head.  And I feel more in my body now.

  • Kay, so I’m in Barnes and Noble.  It’s a favorite summer spot of mine.  Been coming here everyday.  Discovering odd quirky books (Did you know that Hitler’s remaining relatives live in New York? Credits to the bargain find: “Facts Students Should Never Know”) and practical “food for my mind” books (e.g. “Cool Careers for Dummies,” “The New Rules of Marketing and PR,” ‘”Monet’s Art,” etc.) Oh just now I walked by the magazine section and of course my eyes went straight to the “J-14 (Just for 14 year olds magazine)” cover of Justin Bieber. And The quest for literary digestion continues. Score.
  • People watching is also a leisurely/creepy hobby of mine at  B&N.  You’ll run into some interesting characters–the old Jewish moms with their loud and overbearing Long Island accents yakking about the dirty table at Barnes and Noble (when in actuality, there were only probably 3 crumbs on the table); the man next to me trying to discreetly read a Maxim magazine inside a “Newsweek”; the stereotypical lonely Asian buried in her laptop with her hipster glasses…oh.wait….
  • Speaking of people watching.  Union Square is one of the best places to do that.  I can sit in the plaza for a long period of time and make up stories for people in passing.
  • Recently, I’m become really interested in trying to find some careers in marketing agencies.  I’ve been trying to read up on them oh and yesterday I visited a media firm of an old friend/Bentley alum and it’s really opened my mind to explore options in media agencies.  I love the creativity involved, the open-people, the ever-changing challenges of the field.  Let’s do it!
  • Here’s my recent music update:
  1.   India Arie is my new artist discovery (even though she’s actually not new at all in the music realm).  Soulful. Raspy raw voice is so real that it’s somehow so tangible to me.
  2.  Rediscovered my old Destiny’s Child Survivor CD and my NSYNC CD.  Poppinnnn
  3. I have almost 2800 songs but I still need new music. Please help a sister out!
  • I’m doing a paper right now about sustainable development in Africa. (Um, I guess not at this moment actually haha) I’ve become really interested in this topic and am enjoying doing further readings and research on people’s theories and ideas on how to bring Africa out of its rut.  Africa’s has 50 percent of the world’s gold, most of the world’s diamonds and chromium, 90 percent of the cobalt, 40 percent of the world’s potential hydroelectric power, 65 percent of the manganese, and millions of acres of untilled farmland, as well as other natural resources. . . So why is it one of the poorer nations of the world?” There are various theories on why this is.  But I’m honing in on the lack of creative thinking (which produces enlightened thinking which produces entrepreneurial spirit to motivate people to solve problems and be proactive).
  • Okay sorry that was a snooze fest.  And instead of this procrastinating I should get back to my paper. Cool.
Later gaters.
Leave a Reply

