Day 14 – Your earliest memory.

My little brother, cousin, and I in Korea

I think my very first memory was when I was maybe around 3 years old.  I went to temple with my family…back when my parents were Buddhist 

My parents dressed me in a hanbok, that was itchy and scratchy.  But unlike most kids I loved sporting the long woven dress.  Maybe it was because I was a fugly plump mushroom hair-styled boy who wanted to look like my actual gender (the picture above was taken about two years later so please don’t use that as a reference…I’m too embarrassed to put a real picture of fat me haha)
I remember kneeling to Buddha.
Ceilings adorned with magenta and red lanterns–  typical of any Korean buddhist temple.
Twirling around in my Yellow and pink flowered hanbok
Feeling the wisps of air from the force of my circular motions.

Leave a Reply

