First Post in Ghana…2 months a little late.

So I haven’t been able to update my blog as I planned to.  Didn’t end up having internet in the little village of Somanya where I stay in Ghana.  The only times I have had Internet is now…when I am crashing the places of my fellow Bentley colleagues of Accra, the capital city of Ghana.

Although I haven’t been able to update online, I have been keeping track of my adventures, as well as my streams of thoughts and various epiphanies in my own written journal.
So from this point on, I’m going to be transcribing a few of my journal entries to my WordPress. So here goes…this is from my fourth day in Ghana:

5 June 2011
This morning I woke up to roosters crowing.  I stepped into the Mmofra Trom, the primary school that Bentley has been partnered with for five years to provide computer donations, clothing donations, and etc.  The school is lcoated in Somanya, a small, peaceful, and rural village two hours away from the capital city of Accra. It’s as country as it gets–open roads, green, unplowed fields of weeds 6-7 feet tall.

I walked outside with Diane, the director of the partnership with Mmofra Trom and exclaimed “Wow, this is gorgeous!”
It really was.  So much greenery, mango trees, chickens running around, children playing the drums, and it was just so sublime.  Being a pseudo-hippy myself, I couldn’t help but feel at home here and feel so peaceful.  A fantastic getaway from New York life.

Anyway, back to this morning, so I woke up to roosters.  I had originally planned to wake up really early to attend church service with the students, but since my new friend Janet and I spent a lot of time talking the night before, we did not get up in time.  But that’s okay.  We went to a nearby orphanage with the homechildren of the school. (the homechildren are the orphans of the school).

Honestly, I was feeling a little opposed to our field trip.  It didn’t feel right to go to the orphanage.  I felt like we were going for our own sakes; for our own curiosities to see a “real African orphan” like the ones we always hear about, read about, and see on TV.  It felt selfish to me for us to just come see them like they are animals in the zoo, while we fascinate at their “poor lifestyles” and realize how much we have it better.  It all seemed so self-centered int he end.  Yes, the orphans enjoyed our stay, but it was like a tease for the orphans I feel.  We come, get some nice pictures, upload them on Facebook to show them off to passerbyers and then go on with life.  But these kids…it is harder for them.  They still don’t have anything in the end.  It doesn’t seem like a “give and take” situation…just a one-sided “take” situation.

I don’t know…I’m just speaking mumble jumble now. I guess I’m just bothered.

One thought on “First Post in Ghana…2 months a little late.

  1. Aww I wouldn’t say that visiting orphans is one-sided in terms of benefit. Just think of what the average day is to them… Day in and day out. Your visit is a breath of fresh air, hope, something new and exciting. They are just as pumped. They LOVE taking photos! Even if they don’t get to hold onto them, it could be one of the few times they actually get to see what they look like. Have you noticed that mirrors are pretty scarce in Ghana? Esp. compared to America.

    You’re there at the orphanage to give your respects, to get to know the people and the culture, to be a good neighbor, and to add a little spice to the kids’ day. You’re there for good! No need to be so hard on yourself.

Leave a Reply

